4 October 2016
Entrepreneurs from diverse industries honoured at The Entrepreneur of the Year Award 2016

Singapore, 04 October 2016 – 16 local entrepreneurs bagged The Entrepreneur of the Year Award (EYA) 2016 at the Award Certificate Presentation Ceremony today. Of which, 9 entrepreneurs were winners of the Established Entrepreneur category and 7 entrepreneurs were named New Entrepreneur of EYA 2016.

Award winners come from a broad range of industries, including IT, logistics, interior design, construction, F&B, service sector and others. One notable winner, Mr Lawrence Koh, owner of iFly Singapore (Skyventure VWT Singapore Pte Ltd), has found a niche in the leisure industry by having a unique recreation centre that provides indoor skydiving simulation. Ms Jenny Tay and Mr Darren Cheng from Direct Funeral Services Pte Ltd have also done well with their specialised business in the death care industry.

Mr Thomas Fernandez, Co-Chairman of the EYA 2016 Organising Committee, said, “I am deeply impressed that the EYA 2016 has attracted entrepreneurs from diverse businesses and it is encouraging to know that winners are willing to push themselves beyond limits to achieve big goals. A successful entrepreneur effectively maximises limited resources to grow their businesses and they always look forward to use new technologies to raise productivity. EYA is proud to reinforce and highlight the accomplishments of these entrepreneurs.”

“We are very glad to see two new Singaporean citizens coming forward to join EYA this year as well. This includes Mr Ven Chin of GD Group Pte Ltd, a Malaysian-born Singaporean, and Ms Lisa Zou of Tong Chiang Group Pte Ltd, a native Chinese who has obtained Singaporean citizenship. I greatly affirm their enduring entrepreneurial spirit and their courage to build a business in Singapore.”

Co-organised by the Association of Small & Medium Enterprises (ASME) and the Rotary Club of Singapore, EYA is into its 28th year of recognising outstanding entrepreneurs. EYA 2016 focuses on business owners who consistently innovate to streamline operations towards a lean workforce, demonstrating quality leadership and vision to rise above obstacles.

“Staying true to this year’s theme of ‘Harness the Power of Many’, the award winners have demonstrated immense effort to weave together different aspects of their business into one successful front. Entrepreneurs that harness the right talent and leverage the power from the advancement of technology will be able to weather through difficult times, transforming challenges into opportunities,” said Mr Alan Tan, Co-Chairman of the EYA 2016 Organising Committee, Rotary Club of Singapore.

Mr Tan also added that EYA is the oldest locally-founded entrepreneurial award in Singapore and it constantly aligns its stringent judging criteria to the current business climate and challenges. Through EYA, business owners can critically re-evaluate their business model to stay relevant to market needs.

OCBC returns as the main sponsor of the Entrepreneurial Award for the 15th year, affirming its commitment to celebrate and honour outstanding entrepreneurship.

Mr Linus Goh, Head, Global Commercial Banking, OCBC Bank, said, “Congratulations to the EYA 2016 Top Finalists Winners who have demonstrated that a strong customer proposition built on passion, hard work and perseverance is the key to success. OCBC’s sponsorship of the Award for the 15th year underscores our commitment to nurturing and supporting our home-grown entrepreneurs and SMEs.”